Support Prices

The Canadian Dairy Commission (CDC) annually reviews and establishes support prices for butter and skim milk powder. Support prices are the prices at which the CDC purchases and sells butter and skim milk powder within the framework of its various programs. The CDC ceased purchasing skim milk powder in 2017.

Each year, the CDC, in collaboration with the provinces, undertakes a national study of the cost of producing milk at the farm (COP study). In the fall, the CDC also holds consultations on milk prices with dairy producers, processors, further processors, restaurateurs and consumers. The CDC Commissioners then make a decision on the support prices which is usually announced by mid-December and becomes effective on February 1st of the following year.

The CDC Commissioners base support prices on the following elements: results of the cost of production study, arguments presented by various stakeholders, an evaluation of the processors' margin, economic indicators such as the consumer price index as well as their own experience and knowledge of the industry.

As of February 1, 2023, the processor margin for the butter support price is set at $0.9106/kg of butter.

Support Prices

Caption text

Year

Butter ($/kg)

2023 10.2180
2022 (Sept.) 10.2180
2022 (Feb.) 10.2180
2021 8.7149
2020 8.6034
2019 8.3901
2018 (Sept.) 8.3901
2016 (Sept.) 8.0062
2016 (Feb.) 7.7815
2015 7.4046
2014 7.4046
2013 7.3379
2012 7.2810
2011 7.1922
2010 7.1024

Prix de soutien

Chaque année, la Commission canadienne du lait (CCL) passe en revue et établit les prix de soutien du beurre et de la poudre de lait écrémé. Les prix de soutien sont les prix auxquels la CCL achète et vend le beurre et la poudre de lait écrémé dans le cadre de ses programmes.  La CCL a cessé d’acheter du lait écrémé en poudre en 2017. 

La CCL, en collaboration avec les provinces, entreprend annuellement une étude nationale sur le coût de production du lait à la ferme. En automne, elle tient aussi une consultation sur les prix du lait auprès des représentants des producteurs, des transformateurs, des surtransformateurs, des restaurateurs et des consommateurs. À l’issue de cette consultation, les commissaires de la CCL décident des prix de soutien qui sont généralement annoncés avant la mi-décembre et qui entrent en vigueur le 1er février de l’année suivante.

Pour établir les prix de soutien, les commissaires tiennent compte des facteurs suivants : les conclusions de l’étude sur le coût de production du lait, les prises de position des intervenants consultés, la marge estimée des transformateurs, divers indicateurs économiques tels que l’indice des prix à la consommation, de même que leur propre expérience et connaissance de l’industrie.

À compter du 1er février 2023, la marge des transformateurs pour le prix de soutien du beurre est de 0,9106 $/kg de beurre.

Prix de soutien

Caption text

Année

Beurre $/kg

2023 10, 2180
2022 (sept.) 10, 0206
2022 (fév.) 9, 7923  
2021 8, 7149
2020 8, 6034
2019 8, 3901
2018 (Sept.) 8, 3901
2016 (Sept.) 8, 0062
2016 (Févr.) 7, 7815
2015 7, 4046
2014 7, 4046
2013 7, 3379
2012 7, 2810
2011 7, 1922
2010 7, 1024